Welcome to Matabvu Hills

I was born in a small bush veld town in South Africa. I lived in that small town all my life and never left the country except for a holiday or two in Mozambique. Shy and scared of life it self, just imagen  my family’s suprise when I told them I was moving to Themiddelofnowhere, Zimbabwe. It’s more than a 1000km away from “home” and I was doing it in the name of love. They thought I had lost my mind, I thought I had lost my mind but then again aren’t all people in love a little mad? I spent holidays on my grandparents small farm but my new life would take me to such a remote area that even google maps gave me a frowny face when trying to locate it. No cellphone signal, electricity comes and goes and if someone forgot to fill the water tank…well too bad. You would think growing up in Africa I had seen it all and was use to it all but let me tell you, this was a massive culture shock.

This is my neighborhood059.JPGThis is the “street” I live on024.JPGMeet the neighbors from across the mielie field.023.JPG

This should give you a pretty good idea of just how remote it is. Our nearest town is about 45 minutes away of which 13km is one hell of a dirt road.rond ry 4.JPGFollowed by a very small tar road.  014.JPGIn the small town near us, you can get basics like bread,milk, coffee and so on. With the electricity being off for very long periods of time, you really shouldn’t try your luck with the meat so we drive 3 hours once a month to Harare.

Above is the town itself. Small, dusty as hell and busy. I didn’t even dare get out of the car with my camera because the dust would bugger up my camera. With this area being so dusty, I’ve lost my sense of smell(sort of) but it’s a good thing seeing as a swarm of flies greet you at the entrance of the local supermarket. In the beginning I was horrified by this but now I’m so use to it that I just try and keep them out of my mouth.

But honestly, I wouldn’t live anywhere else even if they paid me. The people here are peaceful and friendly. Sitting outside at night watching the stars and feeling like you can  lift your hand and touch one (no light pollution) or hearing from the domestic that his herd of sheep was attacked by hyenas, just a hours walk from the house makes you feel like you are living on safari. We’ve been to the Zambezi river and I have lots of stories about the animals we see but you can google that kind of thing. Everyday life in Africa is the real fun story.

We get massive storms here every November and although it scares the pants right off me(or rather blows them right off), I am thankful for the rain. Last November was ‘n pretty rough one.

020.JPGWe found two small bush babies in all this mess but not the mother. So there we were, two bush babies and no idea how to raise them. You would think google would have the answer but we only found what species they were and not how to keep them alive. The one little guy, Yoda, didn’t make it. When we found him, he was barely hanging on but I still hoped we could save him. It was heartbreaking when he didn’t make it and I’m still recovering from it. His brother Tarzan did make it and will be turning one soon. Let me just make it clear, Tarzan is not a pet. Yes, they are super cute but they look even better in the wild where they are suppose to be. We are trying to return him to the wild but the people that live in the area tend to kill everything they see. A wild female came to our house and made friends with him, even feeding him but two weeks ago someone shot her. Heartbroken again I remembered why I don’t like humans. Now I’m not so sure I want to let him go.

We are also raising a sheep. His name is….well Sheep. I know, not very creative but he likes it and comes running when you call so we are stuck with it. He thinks that he is a cat and should be allowed to sleep on the sofa. His mission everyday is to sneak into the house and just stand around like “okay, I’m here….what now.”

We have a dog that’s missing a few marbles, one cat that keeps bringing me the biggest freaking mice I’ve ever seen (everything is bigger in our area) and another cat that thinks he is the king of this house and will announce his presence at three in the morning.  I secretly hate that cat but my husband loves him more then he loves me.

So this is the life of The Little White Rabbit (for those who don’t speak Afrikaans) and my first ever English blog. Hopefully I get to share a lot more of our lives in Zim with you.

Die Wit Hasie

 

23 responses to “Welcome to Matabvu Hills

  1. Gmf…. jy moet nou nie dink ek comment in Ingalish nie, hoor jy Hasiekalbasie!! Lol.
    Lekker geskryf en ek het lekker gelees, dit is wraggies baie mooi en ek weet dit is beslis nie verveeld waar jy bly nie.
    Die naaste aan jou huis wat ek al was is die Vic Valle, Elephant Hills Hotel – ek sal graag eendag weer wil gaan voor ek die emmer skop.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dankie vir die behind the scenes! Ek is mos vrek nuuskierig oor alles – wil amper al begin vra dat bloggers hulle week se spyskaart blog, so wonder ek wat agter geslote deure aangaan!

    Like

  3. Great blog LittleWhiteRabbit (this name has a quaint American-Indian sound to it). I love your new home and I think it may just be remote enough for me to love living there. I may decide to emigrate … provided that you don’t have mosquitos – I can do flies but not mozzies.

    Like

  4. Terug pieng: Welcome to Matabvu Hills – Wag 'n Bietjie·

Lewer kommentaar

